John Edmondson High School

Virtus et Integritas

Telephone02 9825 9815

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.


Curriculum subjects are spread across a fortnightly timetable (Week A and Week B). Classes are broadly graded according to learning need.

Stage 4

In Stage 4, students study a broad curriculum as per Board of Studies requirements. These are English, mathematics, science, geography, history, Japanese (Year 8 only), music, personal development and physical education, technology, and visual arts. Students also study a discrete course in information and communication technologies throughout Stage 4. The foundations are set for elective choices in later years.

Stage 5

In Stage 5, students study a mixture of mandatory and elective subjects. Mandatory are English, mathematics, science, geography, history, personal development and physical education as per the Board of Studies. Students also study information and communication technologies throughout Stage 5 as a discrete course. Electives are determined by student interest and staff expertise. Students complete two 200 hour electives. Currently the school has electives in commerce, dance, drama, food technology, industrial technology - metal, industrial technology - timber, information software and technology, music, photography and digital media, physical activity and sport studies, visual arts and photography.

Stage 6

In Stage 6, students follow Board of Studies requirements which include compulsory English and mathematics courses. Students can choose to work towards a Higher School Certificate with or without an ATAR (Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank), or towards a John Edmondson High School Senior Certificate. Courses currently running a the school include ancient history, biology, community and family studies, business studies, chemistry, dance, drama, economics, engineering studies, extension English, extension mathematics, food technology, hospitalities, industrial metal , information process and technology, legal studies, modern history, music, personal development, health and physical studies, photography and digital imaging, physics, software and design development, sport lifestyle and recreation, senior science, and visual arts. Electives are determined by student interest and staff expertise.

All Stages

All students have the opportunity to enter nationally recognised competitions in English, mathematics, science, and computing. Additionally, Year 7 swimming school, concert afternoons, pop idol, MADD night, camps, and excursions also provide an opportunity to learn through a different environment. The school also enters a range of other competitions including debating, public speaking, and mock trial.